Trudeau gets in, but no mania

François Lemieux
Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

Former councillor wins mayoral race narrowly in Pointe Claire

Former councillor Morris Trudeau is the new Pointe Claire mayor. He is pictured here awaiting election results at city hall Sunday night. Photo by François Lemieux.

After a long reign by Bill McMurchie, Pointe Claire will now be led by former councillor Morris Trudeau, who was elected Sunday night with 53.36 per cent of the vote. The only other candidate in the mayoral race John Belvedere obtained 46.64 per cent.

"I feel very good right now. It was a close election. My priorities will be to meet the new councillors to make sure we’re up to date with dossiers. A major concern of ours will be the new budget. Our employees have worked hard to prepare for this and we will meet in November to discuss it," said Trudeau in a phone interviewearly Monday morning.

Four councillors elected Sunday will be newcomers to council: Claude Cousineau (District 1 - Cedar/The Village), Kelly Thorstad-Cullen (district 3 – Valois), Cynthia Homan (District 5 - Lakeside Heights) and Jack Beaumont (District 8 - Oneida).

Cousineau won by quite a slight margin, his 469 votes were only 29 more than what runner-up Michael Flaherty got. Thorstad-Cullen also won a close one finishing with 472 votes, only 56 votes ahead of incumbent Jacques Labbé.

Paul Bissonnette (District 2 - Lakeside) and Dennis Smith (District 7 - Northview) kept their seats and both obtained over 50 per cent of the total vote. Aldo Iermieri (District 4 - Cedar Park Heights) and Jean-Pierre Grenier (District 6 - Seigniory) were elected by acclamation.

Geographic location: Pointe Claire, Lakeside Heights, Cedar Park

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page